Gaming PC

Ladon

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been running the same rig with minimal updates since 2006 (seriously). My finances haven't been healthy as I've been a piss-poor college student and I just graduated and got my degree last Friday. Now that I'm now involved in a degree that takes as much time as a job, I'm looking to build a new computer so that I can run EQ and other games better but I'm limited to ~1300 at the moment. That includes a monitor so I believe that I'm going to get a 23" ASUS (even though I prefer Samsung's display products).

Would the following parts make a worthwhile computer? Should I drop the 3570K to a 2500K? I can't decide on a case yet but I have a couple in mind. A top fan, side fans, and a window is required for me. Cooler Master has a couple that interest me.

My current video card is an 8500GT. I don't know much about them anymore but I figure that a card that costs more than a console should return better graphics at this point in the cycle.

Optical drives are going to be harvested from my current rig and I'll pick up a BluRay reader in a couple of months.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($228.99 @ Amazon)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.90 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($129.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($92.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive ($109.99 @ Amazon)
Hard Drive: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($109.99 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card ($282.55 @ Newegg)
Total: $984.40
(Prices include shipping and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2012-05-14 12:31 EDT-0400)

Alternatively, if anybody has comparable equipment that they accidentally purchased and need to sell off.. message me. :)