Need to Buy a New Computer Little Lost -- Advice Appreciated

Marnan

Lifetimer
Reaction score
I'm a guy in his 50s. The only game I play is Everquest (intermittently). Ideally, I like to box six at once. My computer died totally and completely. I only buy a computer every five or six years.

So I'm looking to spend $500 to $800. I'm hearing about SSD now, but haven't ever had one. I have no idea what graphics card to get. I'm hearing that the 4th Generation I5 is a good choice for a CPU. I like snappy. It gets hot as hell where I live and then a bit hotter. My last computer had a problem with overheating, I'd like to try to avoid that if possible.

I'll probably shop on Ebay. If anyone can throw out some basic buzzwords that I should be looking for in terms of what is in the computer I buy, I'd appreciate it. I've got a monitor since that didn't die.

Once I buy this computer, I'm going to run it as long as it runs what I need and as I don't play anything but EQ (oh and I'm an amateur photographer and use Photoshop a lot).

Thanks. Appreciate the help.

Oh yeah, Windows. Most likely Windows 10.

Last edited:
You want to six box with minimal lag so min so you want to have enough CPU cores and RAM for each instance.

CPU: You want a quad core. i5 is ok but i7 is better
RAM: You want at least 8 gig. 12 is better. 16 would be best.
GPU: At least 2 GB of RAM - newer the better.

I personally would stick with Win7 or Win8 for at least another 6 months as they work the kinks out.

Solid state drives are great. Cut windows start time in half. Other applications will some seem benefit but not nearly as drastic. At your price range it will probably be hard to get a solid machine with a SSD.

Last edited:
CPU: i5 is plenty for EQ so I wouldn't drop big bucks in an i7
RAM: I'm running 16GB and 6 boxing. I use about 50% of my RAM, so that give you an idea on how much you need.