Mage Vs Wiz

jestisp

Reaction score
Which will output more dps in group content. Mage/Pet or Wizard

Well Wiz will be straight up better DPS as a general rule of thumb.

The Pet for Stuns or off tanking etc is also nice tho.

If DPS is all you need go the Wiz, if you want a bit of utility etc as well, Mage I don't believe is tooo far behind...

Wiz for Burst DPS Mage for Sustained DPS. a well geared mage can sustain 3 to 4K DPS.

Well Im not very good at harder stuff, so my goal is to shorten fights as best as possible. So trying to increase over all dps.

Atm my group is

Sk
Shaman
Mage
(occasionally an enchanter friend)
Tank Merc
2 Cleric mercs

My sk is only 30k hps buffed 4400ish ac.....all but underfoot CA/CS....so a few mobs get on him he can be toast rather quickly. Looking to speed up how fast mobs die....Trying to also decide if I should do bard instead of shaman.

Well Im not very good at harder stuff, so my goal is to shorten fights as best as possible. So trying to increase over all dps.

Atm my group is

Sk
Shaman
Mage
(occasionally an enchanter friend)
Tank Merc
2 Cleric mercs

My sk is only 30k hps buffed 4400ish ac.....all but underfoot CA/CS....so a few mobs get on him he can be toast rather quickly. Looking to speed up how fast mobs die....Trying to also decide if I should do bard instead of shaman.

Keep the shaman, his heals help more than you think, and the buffs/debuffs are much more beneficial. If you're trying to do UF mobs, I would honestly suggest making/buying a cleric, merc's are great for sod, but they fail in UF. A real cleric will heal better than your 2 cleric mercs by far.

As for you're mage/wiz question, why not both? Mage with pet focus and pet aa's can tank UF mobs fairly well if your tank happens to go down. The dps and stun is also a large plus since nearly all UF mobs are stunnable, lowering the damage to the tank. A mages dps should be able to parse 4-5k+ sustained raid geared and 3-4k+ sustained group geared.