Gaming Rig that I am purchasing on Cyber Monday

twizzops

Lifetimer
Reaction score
Most if not all items will be purchased from Newegg.com, unless they aren't available like the 6870 or much cheaper at amazon, buy.com, or tigerdirect. Please feel free to comment or offer recommendations, especially on the motherboard and memory.

Case - COOLER MASTER HAF X RC-942-KKN1 Black Steel/ Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case (purchasing this because this will last me for many years through many upgrades)

Power Supply - CORSAIR Professional Series AX750 750W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply (already purchased it for $119.00)

Motherboard - ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard (I don't plan on overclocking. I have no experience with it and don't want to risk shorten the life of any of my parts. I wish it supported memory at 1600 without OCing.)

CPU - AMD Phenom II X6 1075T Thuban 3.0GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor (again not planning on OCing so went with the non black version)

CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler (chose this based on reviews mostly)

CPU Compound - Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound - OEM

Memory - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL ($90 for 8 GB of memory plus it runs at the native speed that my motherboard supports. G-Skill also has lifetime support on memory which I like.)

Memory Fan - G.SKILL FTB-3500C5-D Fans (probably don't need it, but it's just incase and I think it will look nice in the case. $15 isn't much and since G-skill makes it I feel good thinking it will fit and work well with the RAM I chose.)

Boot Drive - Intel X25-M SSDSA2MH080G2K5 2.5" 80GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (Liked the price and size plus comes with 2 free games that I think I might enjoy playing.)