mq2 installs fail on win11 machines

loyal

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
I am new to win 11 and have been setting up three machines which went smooth enough with eq but all three fail installing MQ2 and fail to launch with eqlaunch.exe with the failed message could not proceed because MSVCP100.DLL was not found.
I googled it and learned it is a Microsoft driver and purchased Drivereasy and have run it on two of the machines updating about 33drivers
I uninstalled MQ@ from both and reinstalled but they still do not work.
one says DLL still missing the other said it needed to run with administrator privileges so I when back to the internet to learn how to do that which I did. now it gives no message but still does nothing after the box do you want to let this program make changes?

both boxes will run after installation when you get the box to check read me and launch but then will not run from the installed eqlaunch.exe
one of my new machines runs eq without having asvcp100.dll

should I try copying a working install from another machine and replace the failed install?

I am so very frustrated. what can I try now? unfortunately I am not very computer literate.

I haven't used eqlaunch in years, well before win11, but it's just a normal MS VC compiled app I made, shouldn't take anything special.

It actually sounds like perhaps you don't have one of the redists installed, and the installer isn't catching it for you or something. That's listed in the stickies, and you'll at least need the 32 bit version as you're doing ROF2 and MQ is 32 bit for emu. I'd do the 64 also in case you ever want to run meshgen.

Those are listed in the stickies, but here are the links for you to install what you need:

VC Redist x64
VC Redist x86
.NET FrameWork 4.72
DirectX 9 Redist files

LMK if you still run into issues, I'm sure we can get you straightened out.

• Love
Reactions: EQDAB